Print this page www.rfid-im-blick.de

Progress in Health Services with FRAM RFID

Articles | By Fujitsu Electronics | 28 November 2013
RFID technology allows to read multiple tags at the same time even through optical obstacles. RFID technology allows to read multiple tags at the same time even through optical obstacles. Photo: Fujitsu Semiconductor

RFID in healthcare

In combination with RFID a fast and radiation tolerant memory creates advantages for healthcare

Nowadays the lack of hygiene in the field of medicine is a major issue and a recurring problem – multi-resistant germs can only hardly be treated by the application of drugs. According to estimates of the European Center for Disease Control and Prevention 4.3 million people in Europe become infected in hospitals every year. The German Society for Hospital Hygiene refers to a number of 40,000 deaths as a result of infection every year in Germany alone. In times of overworked clinical staff higher hygiene standards improving this situation can be best achieved by modern technology providing gapless traceability of devices and equipment. In this case RFID labels (so called „tags“) based on ferroelectric random access memory (FRAM) are the ideal solution as they do not lose any data when exposed to gamma particles in contrast to EEPROM tags. FRAM is the non-volatile memory of the future, combining S-/DRAM and EEPROM/Flash advantages. Through combination with RFID wireless technology a great deal can be achieved particularly in healthcare.

By Jozsef Miho, Product Marketing Engineer at Fujitsu Semiconductor Europe

Irradiation is the most effective sterilization

Methods of medical device sterilization are versatile and go hand in hand with different advantages and disadvantages. During autoklave sterilization for instance usually 121°C affect on the sterilization items with a pressure of two bar for 20 minutes. For many materials this is too much stress. Chemical sterilization (gas sterilization) bears the risk of residues, thus making laborious cleaning necessary. Meanwhile gamma radiation is used more and more frequently for sterilization. The gamma rays' high permeability provides enormous advantages. Particularly in the manufacturing process many items can thus be sterilized on pallets shortly before dispatch. The process is carried out at room temperature and material-friendly, making an expensive aseptic production process obsolete. In healthcare, radiation doses of 25kGy up to 45kGy are common, depending on the requirements. These high radiation doses are a problem for standard EEPROM based tags. They often lose their data even when they are exposed to 2kGy only. FRAM products passed all tests with this radiation dose without a single malfunction.

Fast and radiation tolerant memory

FRAM is a non-volatile memory technology – like EEPROM and Flash – which means that stored values will be saved without voltage. It combines the advantages of non-volatile EEPROMs and fast SRAMs. FRAM is based on the polarization of a ferroelectric layer. Gamma radiation won't result in dielectric material discharging as it does not lose its polarization. EEPROM or Flash technologies lose their stored data as they are based on charge (so called „Floating Gates“).

The ferroelectric layer consisting of lead-zirconate-titanate (Pb(ZrTi) O3) is polarized by two electrodes like a capacitor and keeps this polarization direction even after the electrical field was removed. Reversing the field allows to reverse the direction. In this way the logical values 0 and 1 are saved.

FRAM technology is based on the PZT material's polarization.FRAM technology is based on the PZT material's polarization. Picture: Fujitsu Semiconductor

Like a DRAM cell an FRAM cell consists of a resistor and a (FRAM) capacitor. Accordingly the access time is comparable to a DRAM. This memory is faster than other non-volatile memory types by a factor of about 33,000. FRAM does not work with long winded block access for write and delete procedures, thus simplifying and accelerating user handling.

Energy efficient endurance runner

Another major advantage of FRAM compared with competing technologies is energy efficiency. Due to the fact that only low charge quantities have to be moved for writing, only little programming voltage is required. This enables longer service life in battery operated applications as well as wider read and write ranges. Another special feature of FRAM technology is that read and write procedures require the same amount of energy. Due to EEPROM tags' higher energy requirements, write access is only possible over short distances. Regarding FRAM, read and write distance are the same and allow a higher distance to the antenna.

Frequent write and delete access, common at logging applications for instance, are a challenge for every memory type. The usual number of guaranteed write accesses ranges from 100,000 to 1 million. FRAM provides 10 billion (1010) up to 1 trillion (1012) guaranteed accesses – hardly any application reaches this limit. High reusability allows cost and maintenance reduction.

FRAM RFID by Fujitsu

Fujitsu provides FRAM RFID ICs in HF (13,56MHz, ISO15693) and UHF (860MHz - 960MHz, ISO18000, EPC Class 1, Gen 2) frequency bands with different memory sizes (up to 8 Kbyte user memory). By using fast FRAM the theoretical maximum which can be achieved with HF technology can be achieved in practice with these ICs. In both frequency bands pure RFID products as well as dual interface products are available. Dual interface products are available as pure Die or in package.

The complete article was published in the November issue 2013 of the magazine "RFID im Blick".

Translated by "RFID im Blick"

Last modified on Wednesday, 04 December 2013 12:21
Fujitsu Electronics Fujitsu Electronics

Jozsef Miho

Marketing Engineer
Fujitsu Electronics Europe GmbH

Telefon: (+49) 6103-690 476

www.fujitsu.com/feeu
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

www.rfid-im-blick.de Published at https://www.rfid-im-blick.de
Das Online-Portal des Fachmagazins "RFID im Blick".

Link: https://www.rfid-im-blick.de/en/201311281588/fortschritte-im-gesundheitswesen-mit-fram-rfid.html

Diese Seite drucken www.rfid-im-blick.de

Fortschritte im Gesundheitswesen mit FRAM RFID

Artikel | von Fujitsu Electronics | 28. November 2013
RFID-Technologie ermöglicht das Lesen mehrerer Tags gleichzeitig auch durch optische Hindernisse hindurch. RFID-Technologie ermöglicht das Lesen mehrerer Tags gleichzeitig auch durch optische Hindernisse hindurch. BILD: Fujitsu Semiconductor

RFID im Gesundheitswesen

Schneller und strahlungsresistenter Speicher schafft durch Kombination mit RFID Vorteile in der Medizin

Mangelnde Hygiene in der Medizin ist heute wieder ein großes Problem – multiresistente Keime sind medikamentös nur schwer zu behandeln. Das Europäische Zentrum für Prävention und Krankheitskontrolle schätzt, dass in Europa jährlich 4,3 Millionen Menschen im Krankenhaus eine Infektion erleiden. Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Krankenhaushygiene geht von 40.000 Infektionstoten pro Jahr allein in Deutschland aus. Abhilfe schaffen höhere Hygienestandards, die in Zeiten von überlastetem Klinikpersonal am besten mithilfe von moderner Technik eine lückenlose Rückverfolgbarkeit von Geräten und Hilfsmitteln gewährleisten. Ideal hierfür sind RFID-Etiketten (sog. „Tags“), die auf Ferroelectric Random Access Memory (FRAM) Speicher basieren, da diese bei Bestrahlung mit Gamma-Teilchen im Gegensatz zu EEPROM-Tags nicht die Daten verlieren. FRAM ist die nichtflüchtige Speichertechnologie der Zukunft, weil sie die Vorteile von S-/DRAMs und EEPROM/ Flash vereint. Durch die Kombination mit der RFID-Funktechnologie kann insbesondere in der Medizin viel erreicht werden.

Von Jozsef Miho, Product Marketing Engineer bei Fujitsu Semiconductor Europe

Bestrahlung ist die wirksamste Sterilisation

Die Methoden zur Sterilisation von medizinischem Gerät sind vielfältig und gehen mit verschiedenen Vor- und Nachteilen einher. Bei der Autoklave z.B. wirken üblicherweise 121°C bei zwei bar Druck über eine Dauer von 20 Minuten auf das Sterilisationsgut ein. Für viele Materialien eine zu hohe Belastung. Bei der chemischen Sterilisation (Gassterilisation) besteht das Risiko von Rückständen, was eine aufwendige Reinigung notwendig macht. Immer häufiger wird inzwischen Sterilisation durch Gammabestrahlung eingesetzt. Enorme Vorteile entstehen durch die hohe Durchdringungsfähigkeit der Gammastrahlen. Insbesondere im Herstellungsprozess können so viele Objekte kurz vor der Auslieferung sogar Palettenweise sterilisiert werden. Der Prozess findet materialschonend bei Zimmertemperaturen statt und macht einen teuren keimfreien Produktionsprozess überflüssig. Üblich für den Medizinbereich sind je nach Anforderung Strahlungsdosen von 25kGy bis 45kGy. Diese hohen Strahlungsdosen sind für herkömmliche auf EEPROM basierende Tags ein Problem. Sie verlieren ihre Daten meistens schon bei unter 2kGy. FRAM-Produkte haben in Tests diese Mengen ohne einen einzigen Ausfall bestanden.

Schneller und strahlungsresistenter Speicher

FRAM gehört – wie EEPROM und Flash – zu den nichtflüchtigen Speichertechnologien, im Fachjargon nonvolatile Speicher genannt, das heißt, dass gespeicherte Werte auch ohne vorhandene Spannung beibehalten werden. Sie vereinigt die Vorteile von den nichtflüchtigen EEPROMs und den schnellen SRAMs. FRAM basiert auf der Polarisation einer ferroelektrischen Schicht. Dieses Dielektrikum wird durch die Gammastrahlung nicht entladen beziehungsweise verliert nicht seine Polarisation. EEPROM- oder Flash-Technologien verlieren hier die gespeicherten Daten, da sie auf Ladungen (sog. „Floating Gates“) basieren.

Die ferroelektrische Schicht, die aus Blei-Zirkonat-Titanat (Pb(ZrTi) O3) besteht, wird wie ein Kondensator mit zwei Elektroden polarisiert und behält diese Polarisierungsrichtung auch nach Entfernen des elektrischen Feldes bei. Durch das Umkehren des Feldes kann die Richtung entsprechend umgekehrt werden. Auf diese Weise werden die logischen Werte 0 und 1 gespeichert.

FRAM-Technologie basiert auf Polarisation des PZT Materials.FRAM-Technologie basiert auf Polarisation des PZT Materials. BILD: Fujitsu Semiconductor

Die FRAM-Zelle setzt sich wie eine DRAM-Zelle aus einem Widerstand und einem (FRAM-)Kondensator zusammen. Entsprechend ist die Zugriffsgeschwindigkeit vergleichbar mit einem DRAM. Diese ist beim Schreiben um circa den Faktor 33.000 schneller als andere nichtflüchtige Speicher. Es gibt bei FRAM keinen umständlichen Blockzugriff bei Schreib- und Löschvorgängen, was den Umgang für Anwender beschleunigt und erleichtert.

Energieeffiziente Dauerläufer

Ein weiterer großer Vorteil von FRAM gegenüber Konkurrenztechnologien ist die Energieeffizienz. Da nur geringe Ladungsmengen beim Beschreiben bewegt werden müssen, wird nur eine niedrige Programmierspannung benötigt. Das ermöglicht eine längere Lebensdauer bei batteriebetriebenen Anwendungen sowie größere Lese- und Schreibreichweiten. Eine weitere Besonderheit der FRAM-Technologie ist der identische Energiebedarf für den Schreib- und Lesezugriff. Bei EEPROM-Tags funktioniert der Schreibzugriff aufgrund des höheren Energiebedarfs nur über kürzere Distanzen. Bei FRAM sind der Leseund Schreibabstand gleich und ermöglichen einen größeren Abstand zur Antenne.

Häufige Schreib- und Löschzugriffe, wie sie beispielsweise mit Logging-Anwendungen einhergehen, sind eine Herausforderung für jeden Speicher. Bei der EEPROM-Technologie liegt die Größenordnung für garantierte Schreibzugriffe üblicherweise bei 100.000 bis 1 Million. FRAM bietet 10 Milliarden (1010) bis 1 Billion (1012) garantierte Zugriffe – eine Grenze, die kaum eine Applikation erreicht. Durch die häufige Wiedereinsetzbarkeit lassen sich Kosten und Wartungsarbeiten reduzieren.

FRAM RFID von Fujitsu

Fujitsu bietet FRAM RFID ICs sowohl in dem HF- (13,56MHz, ISO15693) als auch in dem UHF- (860MHz - 960MHz, ISO18000, EPC Class 1, Gen 2) Frequenzband in verschiedenen Speichergrößen (bis zu 8KByte User Memory) an. Durch den Einsatz des schnellen FRAMs kann mit diesem IC auch in der Praxis das theoretische Maximum, das mit der HF-Technologie möglich ist, erreicht werden. In beiden Frequenzbändern sind sowohl reine RFID-Produkte als auch Dual-Interface-Produkte verfügbar. Die Dual-Interface-Produkte sind als reiner Die oder in einem Package erhältlich.

In Teil 2 berichtet Herr Miho über Möglichkeiten zur Umsetzung des globalen UDI-Projekts (Unique Device Identification), das in Europa bis 2018 schrittweise eingeführt wird.

Der komplette Beitrag ist erschienen in der Novemberausgabe 2013 des Fachmagazins "RFID im Blick".

Letzte Änderung am Mittwoch, 04 Dezember 2013 12:21
Fujitsu Electronics Fujitsu Electronics

Jozsef Miho

Marketing Engineer
Fujitsu Electronics Europe GmbH

Telefon: (+49) 6103-690 476

www.fujitsu.com/feeu
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

www.rfid-im-blick.de Veröffentlicht auf https://www.rfid-im-blick.de
Das Online-Portal des Fachmagazins "RFID im Blick".

Link: https://www.rfid-im-blick.de/de/201311281588/fortschritte-im-gesundheitswesen-mit-fram-rfid.html