• Application Scope








    Uncheck

    Search text

    Technology






RFID im Blick

The world's first at Mercedes-Benz in Bremen: RFID detects leaks in cars!

Use Cases | By PR RFID im Blick Global | 07 December 2015
Innovative spirit at Mercedes-Benz in Bremen! Mercedes-Benz in Bremen looks beyond the conventional and gets innovative ideas from close partnerships with companies outside the automotive industry, from regional industry partners or even from wind farms. Innovations are introduced in terms of alternative materials, energy and drive units as well as process innovations in manufacturing. This innovative spirit is an essential part of this production consortium, where there are regular meetings with “companies from other industries”. Innovative spirit at Mercedes-Benz in Bremen! Mercedes-Benz in Bremen looks beyond the conventional and gets innovative ideas from close partnerships with companies outside the automotive industry, from regional industry partners or even from wind farms. Innovations are introduced in terms of alternative materials, energy and drive units as well as process innovations in manufacturing. This innovative spirit is an essential part of this production consortium, where there are regular meetings with “companies from other industries”. Photo: Mercedes-Benz

Mercedes-Benz in Bremen is testing a new RFID tag to detect moisture during leakage tests

Water becomes a problem when it enters a vehicle. Therefore, extensive and meticulous leakage testing needs to be a standard procedure in vehicle finishing. Leakage tests are given a lot of attention, particularly in the early stages of a new production model. Innovative car concepts, such as hybrid vehicles with additional components, require an equally innovative way of testing, since conventional methods are no longer applicable. A promising approach is a completely new RFID application for the Bremen plant – Mercedes-Benz is in the process of planning this with a technology partner.

From Dr. Axel Maykuß, Team Leader for all exteriors and car tightness in joint development, Mercedes-Benz plant in Bremen

Higher demands

The requirement for high-quality production is not just evident within Mercedes-Benz – the end-users, in particular, have high expectations of the manufacturing quality of a Mercedes-Benz vehicle, no matter what model. This includes the need for a vehicle to be absolutely water-tight so water cannot enter through closed windows, doors and hatchbacks. Neither rainwater from a downpour, nor car wash cleaning water, nor water from high pressure cleaners is allowed to enter the vehicle interior. Elements that are not a challenge in contemporary series production must, however, be carefully monitored during the start-up production of a new car model. It takes a few weeks until a manufacturing process is 100 per cent trouble-free and error-free. It is only when all the components have the required size accuracy, all seals have the correct shore hardness and all employees have internalised all the production steps that the series production can run smoothly. The integration of additional control devices, batteries and wiring harnesses has dramatically changed the demands on quality control during the production start-up phase.

Dr. Axel MaykußDr. Axel Maykuß “New vehicle technologies, such as cars with a hybrid drive, require the rethinking of test processes for quality control. RFID technology has the potential to become the basis for future leakage test methods”, says Dr. Axel Maykuß.

New vehicle concepts require new tests

Automotive technology has become much more complex in recent years. The engineers in automotive development use every cavity in the vehicles to place batteries for hybrid drives, plus necessary additional wiring harnesses. Control units and further components are also used for advanced driver assistance systems, for example. Technological advances in automotive technology carry a definite disadvantage for leakage testing: conventional methods can no longer be applied. A novel solution is urgently needed, as otherwise vehicles will need to be completely disassembled after production in order to test water tightness at vulnerable points.

Passive RFID measures moisture

Together with its technology partner, the Mercedes-Benz plant in Bremen has developed a method based on passive RFID for measuring moisture in a project that was initiated some nine months ago. The new RFID labels are glued into the vehicles at the start of production. Following production and rain-proofing procedures, the capacity load can be determined using an RFID transponder to find out whether or not water has entered the vehicle. Tests have already been carried out on two production start-ups. The results give genuine hope that RFID may be the most viable future method for the leakage testing of vehicles. In 2016, Mercedes-Benz and its technology partners will continue to work on this innovative use of RFID.

Up to six labels detect water

The production tests at the Bremen plant are not just about testing functionality to collect data to support a possible roll-out, but also to determine the required number of labels needed per vehicle. Depending on the model, the number currently varies from four to 14 labels a vehicle. Apart from taking a commercial standpoint, it is also important to consider a sensible and feasible technological perspective. According to the findings of the first tests, the label placement, used in an average of six different positions, seems to optimise processes.

An automation revolution

To eliminate manual processes during leakage testing, the use of automated RFID is a revolutionary approach that currently has the best potential for successful implementation. After all, the use of RFID should allow Mercedes-Benz to fully automate their vehicle quality control. The degree of automation in quality control should be brought to a higher level so that the employees can concentrate on their real work analysing leakages. A review process will now be established to assist the staff in vehicle tightness analysis and to reduce the overall working hours by eliminating additional manual tasks.

Last modified on Monday, 04 January 2016 15:37

RFID tomorrow 2016

RFID tomorrow 2016September 19th - 20th 2016
Van der Valk Airport Hotel, Dusseldorf, Germany
20 Technology Lectures | 27 User Lectures
35 Exhibitors | 35 SpeedLabs by RFID Companies with Live Demos

Download the RFID tomorrow Program 2016:DownloadYour Download

Stay tuned for RFID tomorrow in autumn 2017!

Sponsor

 

RFID tomorrow

RFID tomorrow 2016

RFID Guide

Company + Application Guide RFID | NFC | Smart Cards

Subscription

RFID im Blick Global

Contact us

Your Contact to RFID im Blick Global

You are here: Home RFID Know-How Use Cases The world's first at Mercedes-Benz in Bremen: RFID detects leaks in cars!

• Anwendungsbereich







    Keine Auswahl

    Schlagwortsuche
    Technologie






RFID im Blick

Weltneuheit bei Mercedes-Benz in Bremen: RFID erkennt Undichtigkeiten in Pkw!

Use Cases | von PR RFID & Wireless IoT Global | 07. Dezember 2015
Innovationsgeist bei Mercedes-Benz in Bremen! Enge und partnerschaftliche Kooperationen mit Unternehmen außerhalb der Automobilindustrie, mit Industriepartnern in der Region oder auch mit Windparks, ermöglichen Mercedes-Benz in Bremen den Blick über den eigenen Tellerrand hinaus und schaffen Raum für innovative Ideen. Dazu gehören Innovationen in den Bereichen alternativer Werkstoffe, Energien und Antriebe ebenso wie Prozessinnovationen rund um die Fertigung. In einem Förderkonsortium mit regelmäßigen Gremien zusammen mit „branchenfremden“ Unternehmen ist dieser Innovationsgeist verankert. Innovationsgeist bei Mercedes-Benz in Bremen! Enge und partnerschaftliche Kooperationen mit Unternehmen außerhalb der Automobilindustrie, mit Industriepartnern in der Region oder auch mit Windparks, ermöglichen Mercedes-Benz in Bremen den Blick über den eigenen Tellerrand hinaus und schaffen Raum für innovative Ideen. Dazu gehören Innovationen in den Bereichen alternativer Werkstoffe, Energien und Antriebe ebenso wie Prozessinnovationen rund um die Fertigung. In einem Förderkonsortium mit regelmäßigen Gremien zusammen mit „branchenfremden“ Unternehmen ist dieser Innovationsgeist verankert. BILD: Mercedes-Benz

Mercedes-Benz in Bremen testet neuartigen RFID-Tag zur Detektion von Feuchtigkeit bei der Dichtigkeitsprüfung

Wasser wird zum Problem, wenn es in Fahrzeuge eindringt. Daher gehört eine umfangreiche und penible Dichtigkeitsprüfung zum Standardprogramm im Fahrzeug-Finishing. Insbesondere wenn die Produktion eines neuen Modells anläuft, wird der Dichtigkeitsprüfung eine hohe Aufmerksamkeit eingeräumt. Innovative Pkw-Konzepte wie Hybridfahrzeuge mit Von Dr. Axel Maykuß, Teamleiter für sämtliche Exterieur-Umfänge und die Kfz-Dichtheit in der Entwicklungsverbindungsstelle, Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen zusätzlichen Komponenten erfordern einen ebenso innovativen Weg der Prüfung, da herkömmliche Methoden nicht (mehr) anwendbar sind. Ein viel versprechender Lösungsansatz ist eine vollkommen neue RFID-Applikation, welche von Mercedes- Benz gemeinsam mit einem Technologiepartner im Bremer Werk aktuell projektiert wird.

Von Dr. Axel Maykuß, Teamleiter für sämtliche Exterieur-Umfänge und die Kfz-Dichtheit in der Entwicklungsverbindungsstelle, Mercedes-Benz Werk Bremen

Die Ansprüche steigen

Der Anspruch an die Qualität ist nicht nur Mercedes-Benz-intern sehr hoch, insbesondere Endkunden haben einen hohen Anspruch an die Fertigungsqualität eines Mercedes-Benz, ganz gleich welcher Modellreihe. Dazu gehört auch eine 100-prozentige Dichtheit des Fahrzeuges gegen das Eindringen von Wasser bei geschlossenen Fenstern, Türen und Heckklappen. Selbstverständlich darf weder ein Platzregen noch Reinigungswasser einer Waschanlage oder eines Hochdruckreinigers in das Fahrzeuginnere eindringen. Was in der Serienproduktion heute keine Herausforderung darstellt, muss beim Produktionsanlauf eines neuen Fahrzeugmodells besonders kontrolliert werden. Bis ein Fertigungsablauf zu 100 Prozent reibungslos und fehlerfrei funktioniert, vergehen ein paar Wochen. Erst wenn alle Bauteile die benötigte Maßhaltigkeit haben, alle Dichtungen die korrekte Shorehärte aufweisen und alle Mitarbeiter sämtliche Produktionsschritte verinnerlicht haben, läuft die Serienproduktion reibungslos. Die Verbauung zusätzlicher Steuergeräte, Batterien und Kabelbäume verändert jedoch die Anforderungen an die Qualitätskontrolle in der Produktionsanlaufphase massiv.

Dr. Axel MaykußDr. Axel Maykuß „Neue Fahrzeugtechnologien wie Pkw mit Hybridantrieben erfordern ein Umdenken von Prüfprozessen in der Qualitätskontrolle. Die RFID-Technik hat insbesondere im Bereich der Dichtigkeitsprüfung das Potenzial, die Basis künftiger Methoden zu werden.“

Neue Fahrzeugkonzepte erfordern neue Prüfungen

Die Fahrzeugtechnologie ist in den vergangenen Jahren deutlich komplexer geworden. Die Ingenieure in der Fahrzeugentwicklung nutzen jeden Hohlraum in den Fahrzeugen, um Batterien für Hybridantriebe und dazu notwendige zusätzliche Kabelbäume zu platzieren. Ebenso werden in den bislang freien Räumen Steuergeräte und weiter Komponenten beispielsweise für weiterentwickelte Fahrerassistenzsysteme verbaut. Der technische Fortschritt in der Fahrzeugtechnologie hat einen entscheidenden Nachteil für die Dichtigkeitsprüfung: Herkömmliche Methoden können kaum bis nicht mehr angewandt werden. Eine neuartige Lösung ist dringend erforderlich, da ansonsten Fahrzeuge nach der Fertigung komplett demontiert werden müssten, um die neuralgischen Punkte auf Wasserdichtigkeit überprüfen zu können.

Passive RFID misst Feuchtigkeit

Gemeinsam mit seinem Technologiepartner hat das Mercedes- Benz Werk Bremen in einem Projekt, das vor rund neun Monaten initiiert wurde, eine auf passiver RFID basierende Methode entwickelt. Neuartige RFID-Label werden zu Beginn der Produktion in den Fahrzeugen verklebt. Im Anschluss an Produktion und Regenprobe kann mittels Kapazitivtests der RFID-Transponder festgestellt werden, ob Wasser eingedrungen ist oder nicht. Im Rahmen von zwei Produktionsanläufen konnten bereits Tests durchgeführt werden. Die Ergebnisse geben berechtigten Anlass zur Hoffnung, dass RFID die zukünftig praktikabelste Methode zur Dichtigkeitsprüfung von Fahrzeugen sein kann. An diesem bislang weltweit einzigartigen RFID-Einsatz wird Mercedes-Benz gemeinsam mit seinem Technologiepartner auch in 2016 weiterarbeiten.

Bis zu sechs Labels detektieren Wasser

Bei den Tests in der Produktion des Bremer Werkes geht es nicht nur darum, die Funktionsweise zu testen, um Daten für die Entscheidung über einen möglichen Rollout zu sammeln, sondern auch um die benötigte Anzahl der Labels pro Fahrzeug zu ermitteln. Je nach Modell variiert die Anzahl aktuell von vier bis 14 Labels. Neben der betriebswirtschaftlichen Betrachtung darf der Blick für das technologisch sinnvoll Umsetzbare nicht fehlen. Nach den Erkenntnissen der ersten Tests erweist sich die Platzierung zurzeit an im Schnitt sechs unterschiedlichen Positionen als prozessoptimierend.

Eine Revolution der Automatisierung

Manuelle Prozesse bei der Dichtigkeitsprüfung mittels automatisiertem RFID-Einsatz zu eliminieren, ist ein revolutionärer Ansatz, der aktuell beste Voraussetzungen für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung aufweist. Schlussendlich soll der Einsatz von RFID in dem speziellen Prozess der Qualitätskontrolle dazu führen, dass Mercedes-Benz in der Lage ist, Fahrzeuge vollautomatisiert überprüfen zu können. Der Automatisierungsgrad in der Kontrolle soll so auf ein höheres Level gebracht werden, damit sich die Mitarbeiter auf ihre eigentliche Arbeit, das Analysieren von Undichdigkeiten, konzentrieren können. Es soll ein Prüfprozess etabliert werden, der die Mitarbeiter in der Fahrzeugdichtheitsanalyse unterstützt und durch den Wegfall, eigentlich zusätzlicher, manueller Tätigkeiten Arbeitszeiten einspart.

Letzte Änderung am Montag, 04 Januar 2016 15:37
Das Fachmagazin „RFID im Blick“
Fachmagazin „RFID im Blick“Das ganze Spektrum von RFID, NFC, Smart Cards, BLE und Wireless IoT
Recherchiert, innovativ, praxisorientiert, am Puls der Zeit!
RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2019
RFID and Wireless IoT tomorrow 2019Der europaweit größte Kongress für RFID & Wireless IoT
Di, 29.- Mi, 30. Oktober
Darmstadtium, Darmstadt bei Frankfurt, Deutschland
Kongress | Ausstellung | Live-Demos
Folgen Sie uns auf www.rfid-wiot-tomorrow.com/de
Wir freuen uns auf Sie!
 
RFID tomorrow

RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2018

Kompendium

Company + Application Guide RFID | NFC | Smart Cards

Bestellungen

Fachmagazin RFID im Blick

Kontakt

Kontakt RFID im Blick