Siemens

First tablet PC from Siemens: Rugged and geared for industrial applications

Press Releases | By Siemens | 14 December 2016
Siemens has brought a tablet PC onto the market for the first time. The Simatic ITP1000 industrial tablet PC is currently the fastest tablet PC on the market. It has a projective-capacitive 10.1-inch Multitouch display, the latest Intel Core i5 Skylake processor technology, and the Trusted Platform Module. Siemens has brought a tablet PC onto the market for the first time. The Simatic ITP1000 industrial tablet PC is currently the fastest tablet PC on the market. It has a projective-capacitive 10.1-inch Multitouch display, the latest Intel Core i5 Skylake processor technology, and the Trusted Platform Module. Photo: Siemens
  • First tablet PC from Siemens for mobile industrial applications
  • The Simatic ITP1000 industrial tablet PC is currently the fastest tablet PC on the market
  • High-performance chip set with practical industrial functions for demanding tasks and graphic applications in industry
  • TPM 2.0 security to protect system and data

Siemens has brought a tablet PC onto the market for the first time. The Simatic ITP1000 industrial tablet PC is currently the fastest tablet PC on the market. It has a projective-capacitive 10.1-inch Multitouch display, the latest Intel Core i5 Skylake processor technology, and the Trusted Platform Module. Designed for industrial use, the Simatic ITP1000 is especially suitable for service, production, measuring and testing, as well as for operator control and monitoring. The new industrial tablet PC supports Windows 7 and Windows 10. With many different interfaces and well-thought-out product features, the Simatic ITP1000 is versatile, can be used everywhere, and can be integrated in both new and existing plant concepts. With long-term availability of components, as with all Simatic PCs, the new Simatic ITP1000 tablet PC can be used for many years.

To handle challenging tasks, a high-performance chip set with the latest Intel Skylake CPU technology is used in the Simatic ITP1000 industrial tablet PC. The DDR4 RAM can be upgraded up to 16 gigabytes, and a 256 or 512-gigabyte SSD (Solid State Drive) can also be added to the device. Even customized automation tasks can be handled flexibly with the practical industrial functions – such as RFID (Radio Frequency Identification), a bar code reader, camera, and six freely programmable function buttons.

This is also supported by a wide range of interfaces – such as Bluetooth, WAN, 1-gigabit LAN, serial RS 232 DC-in, miniDP, SD card slot, 1 USB type C and 2 USB 3.0 ports. The PC has an integrated TPM 2.0 module to protect the system and data, and a Kensington lock to prevent theft. An optional docking station with a port replicator that has been designed for practical one-hand docking enables the new tablet PC from Siemens to be used as a complete workstation with an external monitor.

Typical service applications for the Simatic ITP1000 industrial tablet PC are instructional films for simple maintenance tasks, location-related service information, and remote access to plants. In the fields of measuring and testing, the uses of the new tablet PC include mechatronic simulations, such as those for minimizing the noise emitted by automobiles and aircraft, as well as measuring energy consumption, flow and temperature.

Applications for production include films for training new employees, mobile assembly stations, quality management, order-picking scales, and driverless transport systems. With operator control and monitoring, the Simatic ITP1000 is suitable for location-related tasks, such as indoor navigation, SmartAccess to panels, and web-based visualization. Office applications, such as Excel for evaluating production data, complete the wide range of possible applications for the new industrial tablet PCs from Siemens.

Background information

The new Simatic ITP1000 industrial tablet PC is part of the Siemens portfolio of Simatic industrial PCs. This includes the scalable product lines of box, panel and rack PCs, supplemented by additional versions for special applications. The Simatic IPC range – from the compact fanless embedded device to the powerful, expandable high-end IPC – is specifically designed for industrial applications. For mobile automation engineering, users also employ the ready-to-run, rugged Simatic Field PG industrial programming device.

RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2018
RFID and Wireless IoT tomorrow 2018Europe's largest congress for RFID & Wireless IoT
October 30. - 31. 2018
Darmstadtium, Frankfurt-Darmstadt, Europe
Congress | Exhibition | Live demos
We look forward to meet you!

Siemens

Erster Tablet-PC von Siemens: Robust und gerüstet für industrielle Anwendungen

Pressemeldungen | von Siemens | 14. Dezember 2016
Siemens bringt erstmals einen Tablet-PC auf den Markt. Der Industrial-Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000, derzeit schnellster Tablet-PC am Markt, ist mit projektiv-kapazitivem 10,1-Zoll-Multitouch-Display, neuester Prozessortechnologie Intel Core i5 Skylake sowie dem Trusted Platform Module ausgestattet. Siemens bringt erstmals einen Tablet-PC auf den Markt. Der Industrial-Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000, derzeit schnellster Tablet-PC am Markt, ist mit projektiv-kapazitivem 10,1-Zoll-Multitouch-Display, neuester Prozessortechnologie Intel Core i5 Skylake sowie dem Trusted Platform Module ausgestattet. BILD: Siemens
  • Erster Tablet-PC von Siemens für mobile -Anwendungen in der Industrie
  • Industrial-Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000 derzeit schnellster Tablet-PC am Markt
  • Hochleistungs-Chipsatz und praxisnahe Industriefunktionen für anspruchsvolle Aufgaben und Grafik-Anwendungen in der Industrie
  • TPM 2.0-Sicherheit zum Schutz von System und Daten

Siemens bringt erstmals einen Tablet-PC auf den Markt. Der Industrial-Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000, derzeit schnellster Tablet-PC am Markt, ist mit projektiv-kapazitivem 10,1-Zoll-Multitouch-Display, neuester Prozessortechnologie Intel Core i5 Skylake sowie dem Trusted Platform Module ausgestattet. Vom Design für den industriellen Einsatz ausgelegt, ist Simatic ITP1000 insbesondere für Service, Fertigung, Mess- und Prüftechnik sowie zum Bedienen und Beobachten geeignet. Der neue Industrial-Tablet-PC unterstützt Windows 7 und Windows 10. Mit vielfältigen Schnittstellen und durchdachten Produktfeatures ist Simatic ITP1000 flexibel und universell verwendbar sowie in neue und bestehende Anlagenkonzepte integrierbar. Mit langzeitverfügbaren Komponenten, wie bei allen Simatic-PCs, lässt sich auch der neue Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000 viele Jahre einsetzen.

Für anspruchsvolle Aufgaben wird im Industrial-Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000 ein leistungsfähiger Chipsatz mit neuester Intel Skylake Technologie verwendet. Der DDR4 RAM ist bis zu 16 Gigabyte erweiterbar, zusätzlich ergänzt eine 256 oder 512 Gigabyte große SSD (Solid State Drive) das Gerät. Mit praxisnahen Industriefunktionen, wie RFID (Radio Frequency Identification), Barcodeleser, Kamera und sechs frei programmierbaren Funktionstasten, lassen sich individuelle Automatisierungsaufgaben flexibel lösen.

Dies wird auch durch vielfältige Schnittstellen unterstützt – zum Beispiel Bluetooth, WAN, 1-Gigabit-LAN, seriell RS232 DC-in, miniDP und SD-Kartenslot sowie 1 x USB Typ-C und 2 x USB 3.0. Zum Schutz von System und Daten ist ein TPM 2.0-Modul sowie ein Kensington Lock zum Diebstahlschutz integriert. Mit der optionalen Docking-Station, die mit einem Port-Replikator versehen und praxistauglich für das Einhand-Docking konzipiert ist, lässt sich der neue Tablet-PC von Siemens auch als vollwertiger Arbeitsplatz mit externem Monitor einsetzen.

Typische Anwendungen des Industrial-Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000 im Service sind Anleitungs-Filme für einfache Wartungsaufgaben, ortsabhängige Service-Informationen und der Remote-Zugriff auf Anlagen. Bei der Mess-/Prüftechnik werden die neuen Tablet-PC unter anderem für die mechatronische Simulation eingesetzt, etwa zur Optimierung der Geräuschentwicklung in Automobilen oder Flugzeugen, oder auch zur Messung von Energieverbrauch, Durchfluss und Temperatur.

Einsatzszenarien in der Fertigung sind Filme zum Anlernen neuer Mitarbeiter, mobile Montageplätze, Qualitätsmanagement, Kommissionierwaagen oder fahrerlose Transportsysteme. Beim Bedienen und Beobachten eignet sich Simatic ITP1000 etwa für standortabhängige Aufgaben, zum Beispiel die Indoor-Navigation, den Smart-Access-Zugriff auf Panels oder die webbasierte Visualisierung. Office-Applikationen, wie etwa die Excel-Auswertung von Produktionsdaten, runden die flexiblen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten des neuen Industrial-Tablet-PCs von Siemens ab.

Hintergrundinformation

Der neue Industrial-Tablet-PC Simatic ITP1000 gehört zum Portfolio der Simatic Industrie-PC von Siemens. Dieses umfasst die skalierbaren Produktlinien Box-, Panel- und Rack-PC, ergänzt um zusätzliche Varianten für besondere Anforderungen. Die Simatic IPC-Familie – vom kompakten, lüfterlosen Embedded-Gerät bis zum leistungsstarken, erweiterbaren High-End-IPC – ist speziell für industrielle Anwendungen ausgelegt. Für das mobile Automatisierungs-Engineering nutzt der Anwender zudem das einschaltfertige und robuste Industrie-Programmiergerät Simatic Field PG.

RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2019
RFID and Wireless IoT tomorrow 2019Der europaweit größte Kongress für RFID & Wireless IoT
Di, 29.- Mi, 30. Oktober
Darmstadtium, Darmstadt bei Frankfurt, Deutschland
Kongress | Ausstellung | Live-Demos
Folgen Sie uns auf www.rfid-wiot-tomorrow.com/de
Wir freuen uns auf Sie!