• Technology








    Search text
    Application Scope







    Uncheck

RFID im Blick

Leading research: TU Munich makes the invisible visible through holography

Articles | By PR RFID im Blick | 25 October 2017
Hologram technology could be used to track assets and products in manufacturing. Hologram technology could be used to track assets and products in manufacturing. Photo: TU München

Wi-fi holography provides 3D image of the environment

Indoor tracking of objects and tools, 3D scans of buildings, localisation of persons trapped in rubble or earthquakes: At RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow, TU Munich presented an innovative research project. In the expert forums on "standardisation & research" and "logistics & supply chain", Friedemann Reinhard, PhD, reported on possible applications for a new holographic 3D imaging technology.

Photograph 2.0: creating wifi visibility

Microwave radiation is everywhere: mobile phones, routers, and numerous other devices emit microwave radiation. These waves are absorbed or dispersed by objects in their path. Researchers of TU Munich have succeeded in creating a three-dimensional image of the environment using wi-fi holography. Friedemann Reinhard PhD, head of the Emmy Noether Group for Quantum Sensing, Walter Schottky Institute of TUM, explains the basic outlines of the project:

"Holography shows the world as if we had eyes for wifi radiation. The 3D image created can be looked at from all sides. Shadows and reflections on the walls can be made visibile as well. Holography is capturing the entirety of the object. The hologram is a sort of fotograph 2.0, with added object information."

Wi-fi holography looks behind objects!

During the experiment, the researchers deployed a common wi-fi router with a mobile antenna and a fixed antenna. The mobile antenna was mounted on a mobile platform in order to enable movement along one axis. The fixed antenna served as a point of reference, recording an interference-free set of data

The hologram itself is digitally created by comparing phase and amplitude of both signals at each point. In this reconstructed three-dimensional image, bright spots are emitters and dark spots indicate objects. The larger the scanned area, the better the depth perception reached by the hologram - up to and including the possibility of looking behind objects!

TU Munich received Research & Solutions Award!

At RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2017, the RFID & Wireless IoT Research & Solutions Award was presented for the first time. With the award, the organizers of the event want to project a signal for innovation and digital transformation. The Emmy Noether Group for Quantum Sensing, Walter Schottky Institute, TU Munich, was honoured for its work on wi-fi holography for object tracking applications. The award ceremony took place on September 27, 2017, directly following the lectures of Developer Day.

Friedemann Reinhard accepted the award on behalf of his team. He was thankful for the opportunity to present the innovative holography process to an expert audience at Europe's leading wireless IoT event:

"The RFID & Wireless IoT Research & Solutions Award has been a door-opener for our research group. Many potential partners have been made aware of our work, which facilitates continuing our research. RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2017 has been an excellent opportunity to discuss the results of our research project with users. This kind of feedback is valuable to us in order to know which projects have to be solved for deployment."

Last modified on Wednesday, 25 October 2017 14:56
RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2019
RFID and Wireless IoT tomorrow 2019Europe's largest congress for RFID & Wireless IoT
October 29. - 30. 2019
Darmstadtium, Darmstadt near Frankfurt, Europe
Conference | Exhibition | Live demos
We look forward to meet you!

• Technologie








    Schlagwortsuche
    Anwendungsbereich







    Keine Auswahl

RFID im Blick

Direkt aus der Spitzenforschung: TU München macht Unsichtbares mit Holographie sichtbar

Artikel | von PR RFID im Blick | 25. Oktober 2017
Das Holografie-Verfahren könnte beim Tracking von Objekten in der Fertigung zum Einsatz kommen. Das Holografie-Verfahren könnte beim Tracking von Objekten in der Fertigung zum Einsatz kommen. BILD: TU München

WLAN-Holografie liefert 3D-Abbild der Umgebung

Zentimeter-genaues Indoor-Tracking von Objekten und Werkzeugen, 3D-Scans von Gebäuden und Strukturen, WLAN-Signalanalyse für die optimale Router-Positionierung, Lokalisierung von verschütteten Personen in Lawinen und Erdbeben: Auf der RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2017 präsentierte die TU München innovative Spitzenforschung. In den Foren "Standardisierung & Forschung" und "Logistik & Supply Chain" berichtete Dr. Friedemann Reinhard, TU München, über mögliche Anwendungen für ein neues holografisches 3D-Abbildungsverfahren.

Fotografie 2.0: Augen für WLAN schaffen

Mikrowellenstrahlung ist überall: Mobiltelefone, Router und zahlreiche andere Geräte senden Mikrowellenstrahlung aus. Die Wellen werden von Objekten in ihrem Weg absorbiert oder zerstreut. Den Forschern der TU München gelang es erstmals, daraus ein dreidimensionales Abbild der Umgebung via Holografie mit WLAN zu erzeugen. Im Interview mit "RFID im Blick" erklärt Dr. Friedemann Reinhard, Leiter der Emmy Noether Forschungsgruppe für Quantum Sensing, Walter Schottky Institut der Technischen Universität München, den Grundgedanken hinter dem Projekt:

„Holografie zeigt ein Bild der Welt, wie sie aussehen würde, wenn wir Augen für WLAN-Strahlung hätten. Das erstellte dreidimensionale Bild kann von allen Seiten betrachtet werden. Auch Schatten und Reflexionen an den Wänden können sichtbar gemacht werden. Holografie erfasst das gesamte Lichtfeld des betrachteten Objekts. Das projizierte Hologramm ist sozusagen eine Fotografie 2.0, mit mehr Informationen über das Objekt.“

Wi-Fi-Holografie blickt hinter Objekte!

Im Experiment setzte die Forschungsgruppe einen handelsüblichen WLAN-Router mit einer mobilen und einer fixierten Antenne ein, um WLAN-Signale zu erfassen. Router und Antennen wurden auf einem beweglichen Wagen montiert, sodass die mobile Antenne vor- und zurückbewegt werden konnte. Die fixierte Referenzantenne zeichnete das störungsfreie Signal auf.

Das Hologramm selbst wird digital erstellt, indem beide Signale an jedem Punkt in Amplitude und Phase miteinander verglichen werden. Im rekonstruierten dreidimensionalen Bild stehen helle Punkte für Sender und Schatten für Objekte. Je größer der Bereich, der gescannt wird, desto besser ist die erreichte Tiefenwahrnehmung – bis hin zur Möglichkeit, hinter Objekte zu sehen!

TU München erhält Research & Solutions Award!

Auf der RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2017 wurde zum ersten Mal der RFID & Wireless IoT Research & Solutions Award verliehen. Mit diesem Award möchten die Organisatoren des Events ein Signal für Innovation und digitale Transformation setzen. Die Emmy Noether Forschungsgruppe für Quantum Sensing des Walter Schottky Instituts der Technischen Universität München wurde für ihre Arbeit an Wi-Fi-Holografie zum Objekt-Tracking ausgezeichnet. Die Preisverleihung fand am Abend des 27. September 2017 direkt im Anschluss an das Vortragsprogramm des Developer Day statt.

Dr. Friedemann Reinhard nahm die Auszeichnung im Namen seines Teams entgegen. Er bedankte sich noch einmal für die Möglichkeit, das innovative Holografie-Verfahren auf dem führenden Wireless-IoT-Event einem fachkundigen Publikum vorstellen zu können:

"Der RFID & Wireless IoT Research & Solutions Award 2017 war ein sehr wichtiger Türöffner für unsere Gruppe. Viele potenzielle Partner wurden dadurch auf unsere Arbeit aufmerksam, so dass wir leichter ein Folgeprojekt einwerben können. Die RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2017 war eine hervorragende Gelegenheit, unsere Forschungsergebnisse mit Anwendern zu diskutieren. Diese Art von Feedback ist extrem wertvoll, um zu erfahren, welche Probleme es in der Praxis noch zu lösen gilt."

Vollständiges Interview in "RFID im Blick"

Das vollständige Interview mit Dr. Friedemann Reinhard lesen Sie als Teil der Serie "Wireless-IoT-Technologie" in der Septemberausgabe von "RFID im Blick", dem Fachmagazin für kontaktlosen Datentransfer. Das ganze Spektrum von RFID & Wireless IoT auf 82 Seiten!

Letzte Änderung am Mittwoch, 25 Oktober 2017 14:56
RFID & Wireless IoT tomorrow 2017
RFID and Wireless IoT tomorrow 2017Mi, 27.- Do, 28. September
Van der Valk Airporthotel, Düsseldorf, Deutschland
80 Vorträge | 50 Aussteller | Live-Demos
Programm online auf www.rfid-wiot-tomorrow.com/de
Melden Sie sich jetzt an !
Wir freuen uns auf Sie!